Home Page
Reservations Form
    Military Officers Association of America   

Southern Maine Chapter Newsletter

   August 2019

   Vol 34  No. 3


Index (Scroll down through the newsletter or click on a section to go directly there.)

President's Message
September Speaker
New Officers and Members of the Board of Directors

Reservations Form

Request automatic electronic version of newsletter: rmcaleer04079@gmail.com

President’s Message

In 2018, the Southern Maine Chapter, MOAA, instituted an annual award to recognize and thank those people who have gone beyond the call of duty for their contributions to the Great State of Maine’s military community.  The award is named in honor of Ann LePage, former First Lady for the State of Maine, for “Exceptional Service to Maine Veterans.”

It is that time of year to select the recipient for 2019.  We are seeking nominations now to be awarded at our December 7th Quarterly Meeting at the Maine Military Museum in South Portland.

The criteria and timeline for submission follows:

  1. Nominee must be involved with veteran issues and demonstrate activity beyond the normal levels of involvement.
  2. Nominee can be a veteran or non-veteran.
  3. Nominee may be an elected official or employed by an elected official.
  4. Nominee should be a Maine citizen.
  5. Nominee will be selected by a simple majority vote of the Board of Directors.
  6. Nominations must be received by the October Board meeting, the second Monday of the month.  Discussion and selection will be made at that meeting.
  7. The Award will be given to the successful nominee at the December 7th quarterly meeting.

(A copy of the Nomination Form is being provided as a separate attachment.)

Please take the time to nominate someone.  There are a lot of deserving people that quietly go about their business encouraging and supporting our service members and veterans. Let us know who they are by nominating them for this award that we are so happy to give. 

I hope that everyone is having a great summer and can join us for the September quarterly meeting at the Woodlands Club.  Col Bill Hall will be our September speaker.  

Remember: “Never Stop Serving.”

Kind Regards,

Richard H. Tetrev, CDR, USN (Ret)

Colonel Bill Hall, Our September Speaker   

Our guest speaker this quarter will be Col Bill Hall, Secretary and former President of the Chapter.  Bill will be speaking about “IT WASN’T IN THE JOB DESCRIPTION.”  What do you say when an armed US missile lands in a friendly country? What are your obligations when the host country’s military chief of staff tells you, “God sent you?”  How do you politely decline that full glass of vodka, offered by a Russian colonel, when you came just for a short visit to his embassy?  Can you reach back to your training?  The job description sometimes falls short.  Bill Hall has stories to tell from his days as a defense attache that illuminate the lesser known side of foreign relations, show that there is humor in surprising places, and still convey the serious work done by our military diplomats overseas.  Long-time members have enjoyed Bill’s humor for years and this month’s talk should top them all.  Please plan to join us.  

Click here for your Reservations Form.  See you on September 7th.

New Officers and Members of the Board of Directors

Our Chapter By-Laws require us to nominate a new slate of officers and members of the Board of Directors (next three-year term) for consideration by our members in advance of the September Quarterly Meeting each year.  The Nominating Committee has proposed the following, which will be voted upon at the next Quarterly Chapter Meeting at the Woodlands Club on September 7th:

Proposed Officer Slate for 2020
CDR Richard H. Tetrev, USN
1st Vice President
LT (JG) John J. Fay, USN
2nd Vice President
CDR David A. Patch, USN
Col William E. Hall, USAF
LCDR Mark S. Patrick, USN
Board of Directors for 2020-2022
Col Arthur R. Wickham, USA CWR Robert D. Jaffin, USA Col Michael D. Delia, USAF
Board of Directors for 2019-2021
Col James A. Volkommer, USAF CPT Robert B. Wood, USA Col Frank J. Toderico, ARNG
Board of Directors for 2018-2020
Col Robert P. McAleer, USMC COL Henry C. Adams, USA LTC John Ham, USA

Home Page